Midnight Sweatlodge, paper ed OUT OF PRINT


Midnight Sweatlodge is a collection of 4 short stories all interwoven into a common thread by journalist and author Waubgeshig Rice, a member of Wausasking First Nation.  The short, 96-page collection explores the intense emotions and feeling as a group of First Nation people undertake spiritual and physical healing during a sweatlodge ceremony. Each person seeks traditional wisdom and insight to overcome pain and hardship, and the characters give us glimpses into their lives that are both tearful and true.

Price: $0.00

First Wives Club: Coast Salish Style, paper ed


First Wives Club: Coast Salish Style contains ten short stories by Sto:lo poet, playwright, and author Lee Maracle. This collection includes the title story, in which Maracle explores views on sexuality, relationships, love, family, loss and healing in Salish and First Nations cultures. The last story, Canoe, is a moving story about a son who has recently lost his mother, and a step-father still grieving his wife.

Price: $18.95

Moon of Letting Go and Other Stories, The, paper ed


The short stories in The Moon of Letting Go celebrate healing through modern day rituals that honour Richard Van Camp's Dogrib ancestry. Richard Van Camp speaks in a range of powerful voices: a violent First Nations gangster has an astonishing spiritual experience, a single mother is protected from her ex by a dangerous medicine man, and a group of young men pay tribute to a friend by streaking through their northern town. The stories are set in First Nations communities in the Northwest Territories, Vancouver and rural British Columbia.

Price: $19.95

Fearless Warriors, revised ed, paper ed


Fearless Warriors by Ojibwe playwright Drew Hayden Taylor is the revised edition of this publication which first appeared in 1998. This collection of short stories takes firm aim at the stereotypes abundant in Canadian society with humour and style. The twelve short stories cover life on the rez, love and relationships, and family themes. The concluding story in this edition is set during the 1990 Oka Crisis and replaces the story in the previous edition. All the stories are told from the first person narrator and are set in contemporary situations.

Price: $19.95