Moving Forward: A Collection about Truth and Reconciliation, paper 1st ed

SKU: 9780176877408

Tracey MacDonald
Grade Levels:
Ten, Eleven, Twelve
Inuit, Metis, Multiple Nations
Book Type:
McGraw-Hill Ryerson
Copyright Date:

Sale price$37.05


Moving Forward: A Collection about Truth and Reconciliation supports the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's call to action in this 88-page anthology from McGraw-Hill Ryerson's iLit Series. This collection includes short stories, poems, essays, and art created by First Nations, Inuit, and Métis authors and artists on the topics of truth and reconciliation as they relate to residential schools. Each selection includes Before, During, and After questions and activities that support English Language Arts grades 10 to 12 curricula from across the country. The volume contains a speech written by Justice Murray Sinclair about the meaning of reconciliation. Poetry includes I Am Graffiti by Leanne Simpson, Mechanic by Louise B. Halfe, and The Same as Trees by Nicola I. Campbell. The collection includes two memoir excerpts by Isabelle Knockwook and Sheila Watt-Cloutier. Short Stories by Drew Hayden Taylor and Joseph Boyden are included. Richard Wagamese and Niigonwedom James Sinclair each contribute personal essays. Artwork includes pieces by Tracey Anthony and Carey Newman.  Steven Keewatin Sanderson's graphic story effectively explores Rock Bottom themes in this colour comic strip using a limited amount of text. Savannah Simon provides an interview about her efforts to support learning Mi'kmaq in contemporary settings. This volume is an outstanding and relevant collection for Canadian students addressing the TRC's Call to Action through literature.

You may also like

Recently viewed