Amo's Sapotawan (FNCR 2023)

SKU: 9781553799290

William Dumas
Rhian Brynjolson
The Six Seasons of the Asiniskaw Ithiniwak Series
Grade Levels:
Four, Five, Six, Seven
Book Type:
Portage & Main/Highwater
The Six Seasons of the Asiniskaw Ithiniwak Series
Copyright Date:

Sale price$33.00


Written by William Dumas and illustrated by Rhian Brynjolson. William Dumas is a Rocky Cree Storyteller, was born in South Indian Lake, Manitoba. For 25 years, he has been an educator and administrator; his passion for Cree language and culture are well aligned with his current position as Cree Language and Culture Coordinator for the Nisichawayasihk (Nelson House) Education Authority. Rhian Brynjolson is a visual artist, author, book illustrator, and art educator.

Rocky Cree people understand that all children are born with four gifts or talents. When a child is old enough, they decide which gift, or mithikowisiwin, they will seek to master. With her sapotawan ceremony fast approaching, Amo must choose her mithikowisiwin. Her sister, Pisim, became a midwife; others gather medicines or harvest fish. But none of those feel quite right.

Amo has always loved making things. Her uncle can show her how to make nipisiwata, willow baskets. Her grandmother can teach her how to make kwakwaywata, birchbark containers and plates. Her auntie has offered to begin Amo’s apprenticeship in making askihkwak, pottery.

What will Amo’s mithikowisiwin be? Which skill should she choose? And how will she know what is right for her?

This book joins The Six Seasons of the Asiniskaw Ithiniwak Series. The series includes Pisim Finds Her Miskanaw; The Gift of the Little People A Six Seasons of the Asiniskaw Ithiniwak Story.

You may also like

Recently viewed