Reckoner series (Book 1) - Strangers FNCR18

SKU: 9781553796763

David Alexander Robertson
The Reckoner Trilogy
Grade Levels:
Nine, Ten, Eleven, Twelve
Book Type:
Highwater Press
The Reckoner Trilogy
Copyright Date:

Sale price$20.95


Strangers is the young adult novel by David A. Robertson and is the first volume in the author's planned series, The Reckoner.  Best known for his graphic novels and children's book, this Norway House Cree author creates a contemporary novel with mystery elements as well as themes of belonging, identity, loss and a trickster Coyote. When Cole Harper is compelled to return to Wounded Sky First Nation, he finds his community in chaos: a series of shocking murders, a mysterious illness ravaging the residents, and reemerging questions about Cole’s role in the tragedy that drove him away 10 years ago. With the aid of an unhelpful spirit, a disfigured ghost, and his two oldest friends, Cole tries to figure out his purpose, and unravel the mysteries he left behind a decade ago. Will he find the answers in time to save his community? Strong characters such as Jayne the ghost, Choch the trickster, Eva who remains angry at Cole, and friend Ashley fill in the story as Cole returns home and finds continuing loss and a community that does not immediately welcome the teen home. Highly Recommended.  Strangers has been selected in the Young Adult/Adult Category Longlist for First Nation Communities READ 2018.

You may also like

Recently viewed