Amik Loves School: A Story of Wisdom-FNCR 2016

SKU: 9781553795230

Katherena Vermette
The Seven Teachings Stories
Grade Levels:
Kindergarten, One, Two, Three, Four
Book Type:
Highwater Press
The Seven Teachings Stories
Copyright Date:

Sale price$9.95


Amik Loves School: A Story of Wisdom is one book in The Seven Teachings Stories series from Highwater Press. Amik is a young urban Ojibwe boy who actually enjoys learning new things at school. One day Amik tells his Moshoom how much he enjoys learning. But Moshoom has a different memory about school when he was a child. Grandfather attended residential school. There is sadness in Moshoom's face. With a gentle explanation, grandfather tells Amik about his experience. Amik has the answer when he invites his Moshoom to the classroom the next day. Amik is sure grandfather will enjoy this school. In the morning class the teacher and students begin the school day with a smudge and a prayer before beginning their Ojibwe language study. There is a smile on everyone's face.  Amik Loves School is one book in The Seven Teachings Stories series. The Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe—love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honesty, and truth—are revealed in these seven stories for children. Set in an urban landscape with Indigenous children as the central characters, these stories about home and family will look familiar to all young readers. The heartfelt stories serve as cultural bridges to non-Indigenous people wishing to familiarize themselves and their children with contemporary Indigenous culture. Métis writer Katherena Vermette has written these seven charming stories that demonstrate the simple and powerful messages contained within the Seven Grandfather Teachings. Illustrations by University of Manitoba graduate Irene Kuziw are in soft pencil crayons, showing Aboriginal children in familiar settings.

You may also like

Recently viewed