Aboriginal Self-Government in Canada , 3rd Ed.

SKU: 9781895830323

Yale D. Belanger, John H. Hylton
Grade Levels:
Eleven, Twelve, College, University
Multiple Nations
Book Type:
Purich Publishing
Copyright Date:

Sale price$45.00


Aboriginal Self-Government in Canada: Current Trends and Issues is the third edition of this self-government title in Purich Publishing's popular Aboriginal Issues series. In this new edition editor Yale Belanger gathered 19 comprehensive essays by 31 scholars and politicians to deal with the practical side of self-government as it is unfolding in Canada. The book is organized into five sections with section one covering the basic introduction to self-government as it understood by contemporary Aboriginal scholars. Section two is Understanding Aboriginal Self-government with four essays that describe the Practicalities of Canadian Aboriginal Self-Governance Agreements; Critical Analysis of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples Self-Government Model; Métis Traditional Governance and the Claim to Métis Self-Government; and Funding Regimes for Aboriginal Self-Government. The third part of the book provides essays that describe Trends in the Implementation of Self-Government. The topics covered explain Community Healing and Aboriginal Self-Government; the James Bay Northern Quebec Agreement Thirty Years Later; Self-Government in Nunavut; Treaty Land Entitlement on Cowessess First Nation; Government on the Métis Settlements; and First Nations Satellite Reserves In Saskatchewan. In the fourth section of the book provides papers that discuss issues and debates surrounding First Nations women and the Indian Act; building leadership and community capacity; Restorative Justice; and Aboriginal Jurisdiction for Education. The final section discusses the future in Yale Belanger's paper, Future Prospects for Aboriginal Self-Government in Canada. Authors include Frances Abele, Yvon Allard, Colette Arcand, Yale Belanger, Catherine Bell, Brian Calliou, Angela Cameron, Larry Chartrand, Ken Coates, Jo-Anne Fiske, Augie Fleras, Jim Frideres, Joe Garcea, Ailsa Henderson, James [Sa'ke'j] Youngblood Henderson, John Hylton, Robert Alexander Innes, Josee Lavoie, Roger Maaka, W.R. Morrison, Bradford W. Morse, Val Napoleon, David Newhouse, John O'Neil, Terrence Ross Pelletier, Michael Prince, Jeff Reading, Jean-Paul Restoule, Harold Robinson, Dahti Scott, and Gabrielle Slowey. This is an extremely useful resource for the understanding of First Nations self-government suitable for senior secondary courses as well as university undergraduate programs.

You may also like

Recently viewed