You Are Sacred

SKU: 9781771746298

Sarah-Anne Tourond
Sarah-Anne Tourond
Grade Levels:
Preschool, Kindergarten, One, Two
Anishinaabe, Ojibwe
Book Type:
Strong Nations Publishing Inc.
Copyright Date:

Sale price$18.95


Written and illustrated by Sarah-Anne Tourond, Anishinaabeg, Ojibway from Gambler First Nation and Métis.

You Are Sacred is the first book in the All That You Are series.

Through lyrical text and colourful watercolour illustrations, the All That You Are series uses the teachings of the Anishinaabe Medicine Wheel to remind children of their connection to the world around them. Each book in the series focuses on one quadrant of the Medicine Wheel that represents one kind of wellness—Spiritual, Physical, Emotional, and Mental. A diagram and description of the Medicine Wheel are included at the back of each book. Also included are Anishinaabe Connections, which share more about Anishinaabe art, culture, and traditions explored in the text and illustrations. Books in the All That You Are series are best suited for children ages 3 to 6 and make wonderful read-alouds in classrooms and homes.

Curriculum Connections
Early Literacy – listening, reading, and discussing
Art – traditional Anishinaabe clothing and art
Health and Wellness – focusing on breath and balance, self-affirmation
Science – harmonious ecosystems, biodiversity of plants and animals with Indigenous cultural importance, environmental awareness
Social Responsibility – uplifting others and ourselves
Indigenous Knowledge and Traditions – teachings of the Anishinaabe Medicine Wheel, the Seven Generations, and All Our Relations

You may also like

Recently viewed